And those who can’t stop teaching…

The new school year is starting and for the first time in 37 years, I’m not going to walk into a classroom, hands shaking….

(Feeling kinda wistful actually.)

But! This summer I dipped my toes into the waters of independent writing workshops. And I LOVED it. With the great good assistance of Colette Volkema DeNooyer, who has experience in these things and hosted the workshops at her magical home along Lake Michigan, I spent a week with a group of people who love poetry and loved being together.

The sessions were such a good time that Colette and I decided to try for another set of sessions running once a month from September through February. That workshop has already filled. So now we are thinking of other possibilities, and that’s where you all come in.

I’m imagining several types of workshops: ones for those who have always wanted to try their hand at writing poems, ones that focus on particular approaches to writing poems, ones that are for those who want to add to what they already do with their poems, ones that focus on developing ways of working with the various elements of poetry, ones that focus on particular contemporary poets and what we can learn from what they do, etc.

So—-to that end we’ve added an email news feature that you can sign up for to hear about workshops, readings, new books coming out, etc. By asking you to sign up for it, (see the link in the upper right-hand corner of the site?) we’ll know we’re notifying only those of you who want to hear about the kinds of things I’ll be up to in my so-called retirement.

Here’s the setting for our workshops:

Poetry Workshop Setting

photo by Joy Gaines Friedler

And if you have ideas about what these workshops should be? Leave comments here, or over on the Readings and Workshops page. I’d love to hear from you.

And now back to looking ahead while remaining ever grateful for the wonderful years I had with my students at Hope College….

3 thoughts on “And those who can’t stop teaching…

  1. I am SIGNED UP and so excited that you’re doing workshops! I currently live 12 hours away, but I will make at least one of them work.

  2. Jack! Congratulations on your retirement and your new adventures! I am in New Orleans now. If ever a place needed poetry…

Leave a Reply

